Events & Exhibits
Stop by the Little Temecula History Center and help us honor and celebrate Temecula's rich history. We are located adjacent to the original Vail Ranch buildings. The History Center is filled with numerous artifacts that speak to the history of this remarkable area. View, read about and touch the treasures in this unique setting and learn about the development and expansion of this history rich area.
Climb aboard a replica of Butterfield Stagecoach that ran through the Temecula Valley from 1858 until 1861, pausing at an adobe stage stop. Crank a mechanical bellows on a blacksmith’s forge that was used to heat and shape horseshoes on the Vail Ranch from 1905 until the ranch was sold to developers in 1964. See how an antique rope making device can turn twine into small rope for daily use on the Ranch. Explore the construction of an authentically restored chuck wagon and learn how “Cookie” fed the dozens of cowboys on the sprawling, 87,500 acre Vail Ranch that was home to thousands of head of cattle!
View artifacts from the original Vail Ranch Headquarters that existed from 1904 - 1964. See how a large cattle ranch functioned and what they used in their everyday life. Much of the exhibit is hands on. You can work a honey extractor, crank an old blacksmith forge and even make a rope out of twine. Contained in the Vail Collection is a granite marker believed to have been used as landmark for the Little Temecula Rancho.
In addition to items from Vail Ranch, there are many other displays from the early days of Temecula and the Temecula Valley. Much of what is contained in the Little Temecula History Center has been received as donations from descendants of early Temecula families. These historical items includes artifacts, antiques, books, pictures, and original documents. A truly unique display is one of an early 20th century kitchen, complete with a wood burning stove and an icebox.